Life and Love

I’ve recently discovered “love” in an odd form of the word I guess because I’m not in a relationship, I’m not seeing anyone, I haven’t met anyone lately that I have literally fallen head over heels for…but I came into contact with an old friend that I hadn’t seen in a couple of years. We both had a bit of a crush on each other years ago but nothing was done about it. A few years later, fate led us back to each other’s lives for what seemed like eternity and a millisecond both at once. Realistically, it was only a weekend, well 3 days, but it was one of the most memorable weekends of my life. We caught up as friends and realised how we felt about each other and how we would always feel about each other. But timing is never quite right…but the beauty of it all is that we’re ok with how we are. Don’t get me wrong I would cut off my right arm if timing was right and we could be together…but that’s not going to happen, I know that. He knows that. And we’re ok. He makes me feel like no one does or has ever before. I know that I will always feel the same way about him…he completes me. Now. Maybe forever. Who knows. But at the end of the day, life has its ways of teaching us things and reminding us of certain things that we can and can’t have. But it’s nice to know and be reminded that we can be loved and we can feel that emotion and that sense of the universe coming together.

The post I wrote about a year ago about being in that cocoon of love where all you see and hear and touch and smell is the person right in front of you…and I’m so glad to know what that feeling is like. For real. I know it didn’t last long, but I can legitimately say I have felt it now. And it’s an amazing feeling. Everyone should have a chance at feeling that special.

I just want to say thank you to the man that showed me what this is. I want to thank him for being the most powerful human being in my life to date. I want to thank him for being someone I adore and admire. I love him with all that I have in all my heart, and I will never stop loving him the way I do right now. And I want to thank him for reminding and showing me that this is just the beginning…

But what is love? Why do we search for these perfect people that will “complete” us? Why does everyone believe there is only one person out in the world for us? I don’t believe in that…it’s a physical impossibility. Yes I know what it’s like to find your “other half” or someone that completes you…but there’s not just solely one person that fits you like a glove, there has to be numerous. You meet people for certain reasons and at certain times. To help you get through life and to help them through life. There are some people you just click with instantly and have an insane amount of common qualities and beliefs. But people also change, and adapt to their current surroundings, which sometimes results in arguments, or falling out of love or simply losing touch. That part of life sucks. But in the same time, it teaches you what you need to learn…and what they need to learn. I can honestly say though, I have a small number of friends that I know I will never lose touch with. No matter the time, no matter the distance…these people are stuck with me!

I’m a firm believer in that things happen for a reason…but I don’t really know why sometimes. Because in the grand scheme of things, we are only tiny specs of dust (so to speak) in this massive universe that is out there. What is life? Why do we search for a meaning or purpose in our lives? When really we should just be living every day as it comes. Have fun while we can, do the things we want to, don’t stress out about the minor things because they’re not really as big as we think they are. I don’t know…I’ve been thinking a lot about everything lately and the big things that I seem to let bother me aren’t really that big…the universe is more than who we are…and when I think too much about how my mere existence essentially means nothing, I get really anxious. There’s so much more to life that’s out there. We are not the world. But we are the people of the world.

Ok…I’m getting lost in myself again now, and when that happens I tend to babble on about absolutely nothing. Time to have a hot cup of tea and recuperate 🙂

And…as usual…a song to sum up my feelings about my “love”

You told me boy look the other way
You told me boy bite your tongue
Yes that’s not the way,
Yeah that’s not the way
Ah that’s not the way that friends behave
Ah that’s just not the way that friends behave
Oh no, no, no,
No, no, no, no

You lined me up
Across the room
Two falling sparks
One willing fool
And I, I always knew
That I would love you from afar

You told me boy look the other way
You told me boy hide those hands
But I’ve been living on the crumbs of your love
And I’m starving now

And that is the way that we remain
Ah that will be the way that we remain
Oh no no no
No no no no

You lined me up
Across the room
Two falling sparks
One willing fool
And I, I always knew
That I would love you from afar

You lined me up
Across the room
Two falling sparks
One willing fool
And I, I always knew
That I would love you from afar

It shouldn’t come as a surprise
What I’m feeling, what I’m feeling now
It shouldn’t come as a surprise
She got darling hazel eyes

It shouldn’t come as a surprise
What I’m feeling, what I’m feeling now

From Afar by Vance Joy. Thank you Vance Joy, your performance of this and every other song at Splendour was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

