We like the attention

I met someone a few weeks ago under unusual circumstances and for one reason or another he was fairly interested in me. I naturally was taken a bit by surprise because I didn’t think I would be the type of person he would be interested in. He is quite attractive, very physically fit and a fairly confident character. We got talking and I ended up accepting his invitation to meet up with him since the first time we met. I was my normal shy, yet inquisitive self and tried very hard to conjure up conversation topics throughout the evening, which I seemed to do quite well at, and as did he. A lot of questions were going back and forth, we even got a bit comfortable to tease each other a little bit.

At the end of the night we parted ways and I think we were both unsure of what we really had in common. I definitely had a few concerns that made me consider not going on a second date with him.

Anyway, over the last few weeks we have still been chatting, and have not yet caught up again, but not due to a lack of trying, I’ve just been really busy with work, uni, weddings and other social events and none of our timing has worked out quite right. However almost every time I chat to him I wonder why I am still somewhat interested. There’s a little part of me inside that keeps me holding onto something. I could not figure out just what that thing was. He is pretty much the complete opposite to my “type”, not that I really consider myself to having a “type” but there are some things he does and says that are just not what I want in a person and they’re the type of little habits that really kind of bug me sometimes. So the other day I was telling a friend about this guy and searching for advice, and I told her how I don’t know what it is that makes me hold on when everything about him is not my type. Until it hit me…because my friend told me bluntly…she said “you think you’re interested in him because of the attention you get from him, and that attention is a nice feeling. So it makes you think you like him.” I stopped to think about that for a second and realised how right she really was. We all love getting attention from people, especially from the opposite sex. And I think because he is so attractive, fit and active, and is a stereotype of what most girls would think is “sexy”, the attention from him seems far greater and much more alluring.

Despite realising this, I still haven’t decided whether or not I will catch up with this guy again or just let it fizzle out…I guess I’ll just see where the wind takes me. I just thought it was interesting that we think we like something or someone because of the attention we get out of it or the situation.

Something to think about in your own lives or pasts that has led you to that feeling or decision.

3 thoughts on “We like the attention

  1. I have to say that I know exactly what you mean. Attention is a weird thing. It makes us think that another person finds something valuable in us that we might not have found in ourselves. Not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

