Where does our happiness come from?

Isn’t it funny how majority of the time, our own happiness depends a lot on the people around us? For us to be happy we seek to find the happiness in our close family and friends who we love and cherish the most. We need things around us to be happy and stable to be happy. Why can’t we find peace and happiness within? And what about those people who have no family? Or very few friends? Where do they find happiness? Do they seek it in other places? Or are they permanently unhappy?

I’m not saying that they are the only reason someone is happy, I’m just realising that a lot of the time we’re happy when they are happy, or when they are healthy and stable with nothing potentially going wrong.

For me, yeah sure I’m happy when everyone around me that I love and care about are happy, but that’s not the only thing that makes me happy. I find joy and happiness in little things, in the simple things life has to offer. I can find happiness in strangers and the good that can come from strangers. And those little random acts of kindness which sometimes aren’t all that little…or at least don’t seem that little, because to someone, those things that others perceive as a “little” act can be largely significant. We need more of that. We need more kindness in the world. Maybe that will make people on the whole, a happier species. Although the hardest and most upsetting thing about random acts of kindness is that some people don’t appreciate it. I guess that’s why there’s not more random acts going around. It makes me sad. I had a conversation with my brother about some random acts of kindness stories I had read…and he made me realise that there are people out there that would look at the situation in a different light and be offended by some of these things. It’s heartbreaking. It really is. Mostly because people would then think “well why do such a thing when people don’t appreciate the good?” so they stop doing it. People should be more grateful and appreciative of life, and the good that’s out there.

I just realised I have gone on a different tangent to what I originally started this post to be about…but yeah the truth is, we need more kindness and acceptance in the world. And as Ghandi says “be the change you wish to see in the world”, although I do try to believe this and live by it, but the harsh truth is that everyone is different…therefore no one is going to think along the same lines as other people, meaning that the world will never be a peaceful, happy place where everyone gets along. It’s just not possible. My Dad told me once that we need idiots [and wrong-doers] in the world to keep the world going around. I didn’t understand or believe him at first because I thought surely if everyone was good and happy then everyone would get along then the world would be a fantastic place! But now I get it. Now I just don’t want to believe that his words are true. I guess a girl can dream though πŸ™‚

Staying on this thought, and bringing in the first part of the post…where do murderers and criminals get their happiness from? What do they find their joy and happiness in? Killing people? Stealing things? I can’t fathom that. I try to be open-minded and understand a lot of what other people think and feel, and I believe I’m a very open-minded person…but when it comes to things like this, I just don’t get it. How can one person find happiness in taking another person’s life? How can one be satisfied by stealing something that isn’t theirs? As I was out in the city last night, I witnessed something small that confused me about people…a delivery truck was driving away, and some random man was holding onto the back and tried [and succeeded] in opening the back door, letting the doors fly from side to side as the truck was driving away and had no idea. There was nothing I could do because it was already too far gone, but it made me wonder “WHY?” why would someone do that? We do not know the extent of our consequences. I love the movie The Butterfly Effect with Ashton Kutcher. It’s such a great representation of how the [seemingly] littlest things can change everything about a person’s life. I’ve never seen the movie Sliding Doors but I can imagine I would like it. It really interests me about the thought of alternate universes and how if we do one thing differently, a whole new outcome can occur. Of course it is not possible for there to be alternate universes, because every day we face thousands of decisions that would make our lives go in so many different directions, there’s not just one critical moment in our life that defines our alternate universe option.

Anyway…I feel like I’ve rambled on long enough. Especially seeing as I went in totally different directions a couple of times. Ah…that’s just where my brain is at.

Leave a Reply

