Why can’t you save anybody?

I have this addiction to want to save people. It’s like there’s a magnetic force that attracts me to people with issues and emotional problems that I want to help them get over. In some way I want to make their problems my problems and help them deal with it so that they can find peace and happiness with the world again. It’s like I don’t want the person to think they’re alone. I get so addicted to the desire of trying to help people that sometimes I even let myself get emotionally involved with the person. Which is the stupidest and hardest thing for me, becauBuddhase more often than not it always ends in heartbreak (or some sort of pain) for me. But I can’t help it. It’s like I see a wounded, helpless animal and my natural instinct is to do what I can to find their path again. Despite realising that I can’t save anyone, I still try. No matter what. It’s just who I am.

Although what I am trying to learn to do is to not save them as such, but to love and support them. And make sure that they know that I’m here every step of the way if they need it. I’ve seen numerous quotes telling me that I can’t save anyone. But that doesn’t stop me from trying. I will always be that person who will listen, offer advice, sacrifice my happiness for someone else’s. It’s just what I’m conditioned to do.

You cannot save anyone. But you can be there to support them, because, ultimately they have to be willing to save themselves. We can love and support people as much as we want, but we are not the ones who save others. People must learn to open their hearts and save themselves.

BrokenI saw this quote:

“funny, you’re the broken one, but I’m the only one who needed saving”

which is actually a lyric from a song by Rihanna, and I thoughtΒ maybe, just maybe, a reason I always try and save someone is because I feel like I’m the broken one who needs saving too. Maybe somehow, the fact that I’m trying to help someone, I feel like it’s helping me too. Especially if I care about this person.

I don’t know. I feel like I’m talking jibberish now.

Bottom line is………………….I wish I could save people.

download1

download2

One thought on “Why can’t you save anybody?

  1. Pingback: Spirit Guide? Come out, come out, wherever you are. | olivia in la la land

Leave a Reply

