Love is worth the risk

“It is better to have loved and lost than never loved at all”

That’s how the saying goes. But how true is that? Is love worth the risk?

I questioned a friend of mine the other day about whether or not love is worth risking everything, risking your vulnerability, your heart, your head, your time. He said no. He said he would rather not love than to lose what he has lost.

I disagree. Although I’ve never really truly been what’s believed to be as “in love” however I think it is worth risking absolutely everything. It has to be. People spend their lives searching for their other half, their “the one”, and life is all about the ups and downs, highs and heartbreaks while on your journey of self discovery and finding a person that completes you. Everything we do leads us to who we are and what we know. We learn, we teach along the way. I wouldn’t change anything I have done or learnt (or not done) for the world.

If you were faced with the knowledge that you would lose a certain loved one, would you change your life so that you don’t meet that particular person (or if you already knew them would you avoid getting so close to them) so as to save yourself from that heartbreak? I can tell you without hesitation that I wouldn’t. Not at all. I would rather live a life full of love and happiness and just take whatever comes. Sure it would be devastating and heartbreaking if that were to happen but that’s like saying if you heard you were going to die in 6 months would you stay at home and cry in bed until that day came around? Or would you get out there and experience as much life and beauty as you can so that when you leave this life you leave with a smile on your face and know that you had a fantastic life. The same goes for losing someone.

Losing people is a part of life. Yeah it sucks, but it happens. Whether we just lose contact with a friend or if they pass away; we all lose people. But risking everything by loving them is worth the world.

I don’t know what that love is like…but I can tell you it is worth it. It has to be.

Love is worth the risk.

2 thoughts on “Love is worth the risk

  1. Wow! I loved your example of dyeing in 6 months. It made sense to me and actually gave me a new perspective on love. Here I was, always thinking bad things after having been through a heartbreak. I would always wish that I would have never met the guy just to save myself the heartbreak. But I get you, it’s part of life and now I’m actually thankfull for every hearbreak…they’re lifelessons. They are the little stumbles in life before you reach the climax. It’s better to have loved and lost than to have never loved at all. Love is basically an experience. If you have never loved before then your life is lacking experiences.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚
      Try not to live with regrets because everything that you do and everything that you experience creates the person you are today. As long as you learn the right and wrong from all types of experience and that you love and accept who you are as an individual, you will be fine πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

