I’m no movie buff…but these got my attention

For some reason I haven’t been in a big movie watching mood for quite a few months now, I just don’t seem to have the attention span or interest in watching movies. However, upon seeing previews for the movieΒ The Secret Life of Walter Mitty,Β I had this strong desire to watch it. My brother knew that I wanted to see this movie, so earlier this week we arranged to go see it at the cinemas together.

Wow. What a movie it was. The film that would break my long term anti-movie mood was worth all the time of not watching any movies (does that even make sense?). Anyway, I was completely blown away by this movie. I would happily say that this is one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long long time. Inspiring, beautiful, funny, capturing, daring, touching, mesmerizing. I don’t want to give anything away, but if you haven’t seen it….I suggest you do yourself a favour and hop to it ASAP. Oh, it also has a great soundtrack which of course boosts its rating up in my books πŸ™‚

Then today, I was chatting to a friend who suggested I watch the filmΒ Her. So, I decided to give it a go later in the day, and I am very thankful for such a suggestion. This movie is quite different from standard movies out these days (I think), however it was so fascinating. Seemingly realistic in many ways, really heart-warming, beautiful and also sad. I don’t quite know what it was about this film in particular that had me so captivated, but it was definitely worth watching. It’s a little bit hip/indie/artsy, but if you like that kind of thing, then check it out.

After these two films…I don’t think I’ll want to watch anything else for a while again because I don’t think they would live up to half of what I admire of these great movies.

Well done to Ben Stiller for creating such an amazing journey through Walter Mitty. I was never really a huge Stiller fan, but this one seems more mature and developed. Great stuff.

10/10 for both these movies.

Enjoy πŸ™‚


“The past is just a story we tell ourselves”


“Life is about courage and going into the unknown”

Leave a Reply

