Concentrate on unitasking

I have recently realised that I don’t ever concentrate on one thing in particular, meaning that the things that I do, will more or less be done in an “okay” fashion. Certain tasks that we do should require all of our attention and concentration in the aim for the outcome to be excellent (or something close to).

That being said, I need to quit multitasking so much. Although I’m not a heavily busy person at the moment, that doesn’t mean I still don’t multitask most of the time. More so when it comes to my mind. I need to figure out how to still my mind. I need to know how to silence my mind when I need to. My mind is constantly running. I’m either thinking about anything and everything, and often having conversations with myself in my mind, and even imaginary conversations with other people (this can lead to specific problems and miscommunication and misunderstanding in the future), and if I’m not chatting with myself, my mind is singing to itself. Ergo, I never get a chance to rest my mind. I just don’t know how to do it. Even when I’m sleeping my mind races so much that I hardly feel like I get a good night’s sleep. I have the craziest, most vivid dreams most nights and more often than not it’s about something that has been going on in my life at the present time. And I know that’s generally what dreams are, but can’t I just have one night of blissful, relaxing sleep? Can’t I just have one hour to myself during the day where I literally think of nothing.

Thus, bring on the art of meditation. I have never really known quite how to meditate – not that I know at this point yet either – but I am very eager to learn. For real this time too. I want to be able to sit in silent peace and rest my mind, body and soul. I have noticed that I almost always have music playing, and not just your average instrumental music, because that wouldn’t be as bad, but having songs playing, and hearing the lyrics, then thinking about the lyrics, and thinking about how these lyrics relate to me and off my mind goes on all sorts of adventures when I am supposed to be sitting here writing a blog post! And sometimes my mind focuses more on what I’m physically doing rather than listening to my songs, so I don’t actually listen to them properly. It’s a lose lose in both occasions. So from now on, I’m going to attempt to unitask everything, for a few days or so, just to work on focusing my entire concentration on one thing in particular. Then gradually I will sort out what is acceptable for me to multitask while not losing the ability to let any outcomes be mediocre.

Ok, I’m going to wrap this up now, as even though this post is all about me wanting to attempt unitasking…I can’t even manage to do it right now! A new day dawns tomorrow and so does my new attitudes to life.

Let me leave you all (but more importantly, myself) with this one mantra: I free my mind from all thoughts and anxieties and I relax my mind, body and soul.”

^ I don’t really know what the protocol is for ‘referencing’ someone else’s picture on blogs, but I’m going to leave it as that for the time being until I find out a more appropriate way to source an image. My apologies if this doesn’t sit well with people, but at least I’m giving it a go, as previously I had done no referencing of any kind. My deeper apologies for those posts.

Leave a Reply

