The sudden downpour led me to what I was looking for…

Daily Prompt makes me get a little creative today…

It was sunny when you left home, so you didn’t take an umbrella. An hour later, you’re caught in a torrential downpour. You run into the first store you can find — it happens to be a dark, slightly shabby antique store, full of old artifacts, books, and dust. The shop’s ancient proprietor walks out of the back room to greet you. Tell us what happens next!

She says she’s been waiting all day for me, thinking it was some sort of sign, I started to feel a bit lifted and warm. Little did I know she just meant she was waiting for anyone and would have said that to whoever walked into her store that stormy afternoon.

I glanced around the shop, looking at everything and nothing in particular, yet always keeping my eye out for that one item I know I’ll never find. I love antique stores, there is always so much beauty behind finding something that once belonged to someone else, possibly once cherished and treated so well.

Gladys (the old lady who owns the store) says to me that she has just the thing for me as I begin looking at the old jewelery. She comes over to the cabinets, and at the same time, as she opens the doors and moves her hand towards it, I notice it.

It is beautiful, just how I remembered it to be; only more vibrant, bright, shiny and clean. She saw my eyes light up with joy, relief and complete love. As tears welled in my eyes, she said “it is beautiful isn’t it?”

I stammered to answer as tears started streaming down my face, while my mouth opened up into the biggest smile I had probably ever felt.

As she held it in her hands, she said to me that she just knew it was meant for me and that I could have it free of charge. I told her not to be silly, I would have paid a million dollars for it.

It was then that she realised just what it meant to me. She questioned me with no words, just the look on her face.

I said to her “the locket you are holding in your hand, it belonged to my mother once, and the gold chips on the inside of the glass locket, were pieces of gold my grandpa found while he was in PNG during the war. You have no idea how much this means to me to find this locket again.”

Without any words, she walked around the cabinet, put the locket around my neck and gave me a big, warm, seemingly endless hug.

Locket

5 thoughts on “The sudden downpour led me to what I was looking for…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sudden Downpour | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

