Edge of the Frame

Today’s Daily Prompt:

We often capture strangers in photos we take in public. Open your photo library, and stop at the first picture that features a person you don’t know. Now tell the story of that person.

Well, this was actually harder to find than I thought it would! Mostly because I don’t store many photos on my computer (they are all on an external hard drive and I wasn’t going to get that out just to find a picture of a stranger). I ended up coming across this photo that was taken while I climbed the Q1 with my mum, brother and his girlfriend for mum’s 50th birthday this year (oh, the Q1 is the tallest building on the Gold Coast, Australia – for those who aren’t from around here). (Skypoint Q1 climb)

IMG_8531

Now, I’m going to go with “using” the guy on the far left as the ‘stranger’ for my story. However, while doing this climb you make small talk with the people in your group so I will touch on a few true elements, but majority of this story is fabricated. Especially their names.

The guy on the far left (whose name is Ethan) is the fiance of the girl next to him. He is a quiet and reserved man, appearing that not much bothers him. He seems relaxed and relatively laid back. However, under this cool, calm and collected exterior, he was trembling at the thought of climbing this building. His girlfriend – Celia – was equally as terrified, although she displayed her emotions and fears from the beginning. Celia wears her heart on her sleeve. Ethan eagerly wants to admit that he’s just as scared – possibly even more so –  than Celia is. But he won’t. Ethan knows that a man has to be macho and manly, and by this, he cannot show fear or insecurity.

It’s a bit of a sad world we currently live in (for multiple reasons), this one being on the ideals of what men and women “should” and “shouldn’t” display in terms of our stereotypical genders. Ah dang! I watched a good YouTube clip the other day on this and now I can’t remember where I saw it or what it was titled to find it and post it here.

Oh well, I’ll give you this one instead which is a fairly similar idea…and very powerful!

One thought on “Edge of the Frame

  1. Pingback: The Trouble with Gary | Keyboard Pizza

Leave a Reply

