No silver lining in this playbook

Today’s daily prompt asks:

When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

The most recent one I can think of is the movie ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ incase you didn’t guess by the title of this post. So many people raved about it, and I think it even maybe won some awards (? – I’m not entirely sure about that). But nevertheless, almost everyone said it was great, blah blah blah. I couldn’t agree LESS. < is that even a saying? Anyway, the point is, I didn’t like it. I don’t know what exactly it is about this movie so I can’t explain why but it just didn’t agree with me in my opinion.

One of the biggest reasons I guess is that I’m not a big lover of Jennifer Lawrence as the rest of the world is, but that alone wasn’t enough cause for me to dislike the movie. I just didn’t like the characters, the (extremely predictable) storyline, the progression of the situations; the whole thing just makes me cringe.

If anyone has pro or contra views, please don’t be afraid to voice them.

2 thoughts on “No silver lining in this playbook

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Matters of Taste – ADULT SITUATIONS | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Divergent Series . . . Better Not! | TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

