The Tenth Insight

Today’s daily prompt asks this:

Off the Shelf

Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

Well, the quick answer is the book The Tenth Insight by James Redfield, which is the next book in sequence after his book The Celestine Prophecy. I mentioned a few months back about reading this book, which was really quite amazing and I was eager to get my hands on the next one, and then the next and next! However, I wasn’t going to go out and buy the books because they are the type of books/belief system where you let them come to you for whatever reason.

So, some months had come and gone, and I uprooted myself and moved interstate (and consequently only brought a small number of books with me). Then a few weeks ago, I was staying with a friend before I found my own place to move into, and we went over to a friend’s place later one afternoon. While we were chatting and drinking tea, I had a look at this girls bookshelf, and low and behold, there it was, staring right at me! THE TENTH INSIGHT! It was screaming my name! (If you have read any of these books or know anything about them, you too would understand the synchronicity this sort of moment has.) As I pick it up and begin reading the cover, the friend (of my friend; let’s call her L) asks if I have read The Celestine Prophecy. Without hesitation I said that I had and was eagerly awaiting a sign for the next one to show itself to me. L then of course told me to take it and read it. Gladly, I accepted and was bouncing off the walls with joy. I began reading it that night and the next few nights later, however only got a few chapters in.

Since that fateful day, my soul hasn’t been feeling “up to it”, and then I moved (again, but this time into my own place, still in the state of where my friend is), and I started the new semester of uni. Thus, the book has been put on the back-burner and is now nestled on my bookshelf amongst a couple of other books I want to read.

One day soon my spirit will guide me to pick that book up again and continue reading it where I left off. I found while reading The Celestine Prophecy there were a few moments where I lost touch with the physical reading of the book, I would read chapter after chapter, then stop for a week or so, letting what I had just read manifest and make sense of in my mind before progressing to the next stage of the book. So I am just waiting for those moments again with this book too.

2 thoughts on “The Tenth Insight

    • Thanks, I hope so too. But I won’t push it. They are really quite thought-provoking books (I think anyway) and I’m also keen to get reading on some of Eckhart Tolle’s books.

Leave a Reply

