Sunrise at the top of the world

Today’s Daily Prompt asks this:

New DawnIMG_9636.JPG

How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).

I love sunrise, and sunset – however I rarely am awake early enough for sunrise because I really enjoy a sleep in, and most days lately I struggle to get out of bed in the morning. But, the last time I was up (before) the sun, was the two days it took me to drive down to Melbourne (from Brisbane). But I’m not going to talk about them, while they were very thought and emotion provoking, the time before that I purposely got up before sunrise, was to go hiking up on of my recent favourite mountains with a friend of mine to watch the sunrise over the east coast of Australia. It was a picture perfect, magical morning that I will probably remember for the rest of my life. The friend that I went with was the friend that first took me up the mountain, and has helped me in so many ways over the past year, and to climb up the mountain with him at the crack of dawn before I was about to move interstate and probably not see him for a while, was such a heartwarming morning that really made my day my year.IMG_9635-0.JPG

Unfortunately, there were a few clouds blocking the horizon so we couldn’t see the sunrise as well as I was hoping, but that didn’t really detract the mood or atmosphere. Being at the top of a mountain really puts life into perspective and I love that feeling.

 

 

 

 

I miss being up there on top of the world, but mostly, I miss being up there with him.

IMG_9638.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

