I am a writer

I read something on this blog I found the other day that has been resonating in my mind ever since.

“It might be human nature to feel alone in emotions and situations but…as writers we are never truly alone. Though our troubles may manifest differently, we all share the ability to take those troubles and convert them into words strung together to create windows into ourselves.”

I wholeheartedly agree with this and I have come to the realisation that I’m going to consider myself a writer. I’ve always been apprehensive of calling myself a writer, because I haven’t done any writing courses, nor have I studied any form of arts or styles of writing, therefore I didn’t value myself as worthy of being able to be called a writer. But I think I need to start believing in myself and my talents a bit more, and to claim being a writer. I have a blog, and I blog relatively frequently since late last year – and the most important thing – I enjoy writing. I want to try my hand at more creative writing, poetry, and all sorts of other writing techniques. I will get there some day, slowly but surely ease myself into the waters of my writing and see where it takes me. I would essentially like to do a course or two in writing, but that will have to come at a later date when I finish this current degree and have money for other things.

Anyway, I just wanted to put that belief and positivity out there into my universe that I, am a writer πŸ™‚

**UPDATE**: this site confirms my opinion of being a writer.Β If you ever feel like you’re not worthy of being called a writer, read this. And as long as you write, guess what? You’re a writer!!

Peace out my fellow writers (and readers)!

*this is not me, but this is definitely my preferred writing position!

Leave a Reply

