A dropped bear

It really gets up my goat when guys drop their friends (who are girls in this instance) whenever they get a girlfriend. Why can’t we stay friends?

I have this so-called ‘best friend’ who drops me like a fucking hot potato every time he gets a new girlfriend. I mean, I kind of understand why he does it, but it’s not much fun being on the receiving end of it let me tell you.

ESPECIALLY because I don’t have a ‘significant other’ to focus that lost friend energy onto. I have simply just lost a friend. Because some stupid girl has insecurity issues! Ok, so she’s probably not stupid, that’s just me being vengeful. Which I’m not – really. It just upsets me that this always happens. I just get thrown to the way-side because these new girlfriends can’t deal with their ‘boyfriend’ having a female friend in their life. Ugh. Get over your insecurities people! I know it’s easier said than done, sure. Who am I to talk? But why can’t people just believe and trust in their partners? Denying your partner a friend (especially one whom they’ve known for years) is not a very nice thing. If I had a boyfriend, I wouldn’t tell him who he can and can’t be friends with. That’s just not right in my book. Similarly a friend can’t tell you who you can and can’t date.

Gah, people!

Rant over. I need to get back to Italian study. If you have any thoughts on this issue, don’t be shy.

(NB: The title of this post in relation to the content refers to a personal joke with said friend. Oh, and also double pun in reference to drop bears – which some of you may not know: therefore – google.)

Oh, also side note: goats are hilarious creatures 🙂

4 thoughts on “A dropped bear

  1. I quite like the picture of the goat. I imagine it’s frustrating. I think perhaps part of the problem may be that they just don’t know you and said friend in everyday life and perhaps if they did, they’d be less threatened and more open about being included in this friendship. Just a thought, that perhaps one way to avoid would be to include her so she realises the invitation isn’t one on one only. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, just allows her the opportunity to know his friend (being you) as well. Just a thought.

    • Yeah I do get it. But it just sucks being the one who loses out the most. I guess it’s also hard when I see this friend once in a blue moon as is, so losing him is more or less just losing the communication which sucks.

  2. Yeah. I get it what you mean. You’ve done nothing to deserve the title of interference when all you’re doing is being a good friend. Hopefully he realising this before you find somebody else to lean on yourself.

Leave a Reply

