Olivia the Octagon

If your life were a movie, what would its soundtrack be like? What songs, instrumental pieces, and other sound effects would be featured on the official soundtrack album?

Obviously I couldn’t not write about this as my love for music is featured throughout my blog. And if there’s one thing people notice, it might be the variation in the songs I post and write about, although the dramatic change in them isn’t as evident on here than it is in real life. I can literally swing between so many different styles, and genres, and lyrics, and beats, and vibes, etc etc!

For example, this morning I woke up listening to Michael Franti, had lunch to Raury, got a flashback to Kasey Chambers, enjoyed a glass of wine to Kenny G, and then vibed out to TKST, while dabbling in some of AΒ Day to Remember. That’s not even the half of it really, but I guess it’s a bit of an eye-opener into the types of stuff I like and can bounce in and out of, and what represents me as a person. Some days I love a certain band or genre, other days I get all “ughk, how can I like that!” I don’t understand it, but I kinda love that about myself. It keeps me on my toes.

If my life were a movie, the soundtrack would be all over the place. But it would be me. Continuously flowing in and out of mixed things and sounds and emotions, sometimes at unpredictable rates, other times totally predictable.

I feel like an octagon with all my different sides and all the things that I like and sometimes don’t like…but I wouldn’t change it for the world because I enjoy being me. I may not always understand it – so sometimes it’s hard to explain myself to people – but on the whole, I’m happy and comfortable with who I am. Even if it does surprise me somedays.

3 thoughts on “Olivia the Octagon

  1. Pingback: “I know. I know you can fight. But it’s our wits that make us men.” | Non perfect writing

  2. I think I would have lots of ballads. I would play “dance with my father again” at my grandfather’s funeral. I would have the acapella version of “one sweet day” at my grandmother’s funeral. I would have “sometimes” by britney spears for my primary school years. I would have Hanson “with you in your dreams” when I graduated high school. I would have avril lavigne’s “complicated” when I started high school. I would have “you remind me” by Andy Shauf every christmas. I would have ” Slide” by the Goo Goo Dolls for nights out when I was 19. I would have ” She Will Be Loved” when I was having a hard time growing up. I’d have “simple things” by Miguel to describe my love life right now. I’d have “Ain’t Worth The Whiskey” to describe my love life 12 months ago. I’d have “always be my baby” by Mariah Carey playing from when I was 7 years old and learned to love Music for the first time in my entire life. I’m sure that list will change as I grow up and get older. But for now, that’s how my soundtrack would sound.

    • I like it! Especially mentioning the parts of your life that each song relates to, that’s a good idea. I should have done that too. Oh well.
      Good list πŸ™‚ I liked this prompt.

Leave a Reply

