Ashes and Wine

“Is there a chance?
A fragment of light at the end of the tunnel?
A reason to fight?
Is there a chance you may change your mind?
Or are we ashes and wine?
– Ashes and Wine by A Fine Frenzy

You know how some people avoid goodbyes because they don’t like them? Well, newsflash; no one likes them! But I’d rather say a goodbye and have the ability to get closure rather than nothing.

Some people won’t go to the airport to say goodbye to a friend, they’ll just part ways a day or so before and that be it. Some people slowly give up talking to their friends and let things fizzle out rather than facing the problem head on and saying goodbye if they both know that has to be done.

Not me. I like goodbyes. Well, I don’t LIKE them, but I would prefer to have that sense of closure to enable me to move on with my life properly. I feel like I need that door to close and lock behind me rather than let sway and slam in the wind. (If that’s even a good metaphor?)

It’s like breaking up with someone, but without the maturity of actually breaking up with them. They just avoid it and sooner or later the relationship is no longer because neither parties addressed the parting of ways. It’s just not me. Ugh. It’s utterly annoying. I just want to say a good, decent, sayonara.

I want that last hug. That last kiss. The last snuggle of my face into your shoulder. The last laugh we have together. The last petty argument that doesn’t mean anything. The last…everything. So that I can have those lasting memories to take with me on my onward journey. Rather than this bullshit lack of reply/ignoring me or whatever the fuck is going on.

P.S. I posted that picture because I love it. Especially in regards to an embrace. This post does not have anything to do with that particular song however.Β (Or does it?) – Also, the song being ‘Blood’ by The Middle East.

One thought on “Ashes and Wine

  1. Pingback: badbye | olivia in la la land

Leave a Reply

