It feels good to be kind

Parking at uni at the moment is ridiculous. The free car park area is full before 9am most days (!) so I have ended up parking in the paid parking section which is stupid expensive for poor uni students.

Today I left home a good hour before I did last week, only to get caught in traffic, and to arrive only 15 mins earlier than the time I did last week…to find the free parking was full. So rather than parking in the more expensive per hour limit area, I parked in the all day section, for a much cheaper price (yet still annoying because I only had to be there for a whole 2 hours of my class this morning, AND still costed me $$$ which I was annoyed about because I tried so hard to get there early to get in the free parking).

All of this put together made me annoyed, bitter and angry on an early Thursday morning, which is not enjoyable.

However, during my class I decided I would pass on my ticket to someone who was arriving when I was leaving, seeing as it would only be midday when I left. I started to get a bit anxious when I didn’t see anyone coming into the car park or looking for a park and that I wouldn’t be able to pass my all day ticket on. But luckily, as I got in my car and started to reverse, someone popped up behind me wanting to take my park.

I got out of my car and walked up to her window and asked her if she needed my ticket. With a huge smile on her face and immense gratitude in her voice, she said “yes please”, and big “thank you” when I gave it to her and said “have a good day”, smiled and got back in my car.

As I was driving home, I realised the earlier tension of traffic, parking and the cost of the ticket annoyance had lifted. One simple, easy act of kindness and I didn’t care how much it cost me anymore. I obviously didn’t ask the girl for any money, nor did I expect any from her. I just felt good about making her day just that little bit better.

Along with the ticket I also gave her a Wake Up Project Kindness Card, so I can only hope she returns that kind and generous favour to someone else today, or tomorrow, and forever really.

It doesn’t take much to be kind, and it feels good. For everyone involved. So, if you only do one thing today,  let that thing be a kind act. To a loved one, or to a stranger. Kindness matters.

Peace ✌️

One thought on “It feels good to be kind

  1. Pingback: Pam hits Vanuatu; hard. | olivia in la la land

Leave a Reply

