last night. or was it this morning…?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Zone.”

As you fall asleep, wrapped up in me

I lay there tired, yet wide awake

My body aching with fatigue

But my heart and mind won’t let me sleep

My eyes fixated on each little hair on your face that I can see in the dark light

I smile at the sight of you

As you fall asleep, wrapped up in me

I cannot sleep

For I fear that the minute I close my eyes, you won’t exist anymore

Even though I know you’re right there

I can feel your hands running up and down my spine

Sending goosebumps all over my body

As you fall asleep, wrapped up in me

I wonder what you’re dreaming about

Then hours begin to pass by in the blink of an eye,

More light is streaming in through the window

I am lost deep in thought,

And slowly I fall asleep, wrapped up in you

Leave a Reply

