I don’t wanna die anymore

For some reason, I love The Smith Street Band. I think their music is actually kind of shitty, but I just love them regardless…because, yeah, I’m weird like that.

If you haven’t heard of them, they are an Aussie band which comes across quite noticeably throughout their songs, and personally I think the singing is pretty terrible (not that I am one to judge because I can’t sing!) But some of their song lyrics are just so raw and touching and relatable that I can’t go past them.

I first had a weird love for this band when I heard their song Ducks Fly Together, but lately I’ve realised how much more this song means to me. So I just thought I’d share some Australian music with you all, and more importantly, this song which is a very strong song relating to depression.

I Don’t Wanna Die Anymore – The Smith Street Band

I was wrapped up in my doona and wrapped up in my own head
I spent winter wishing I could do over or be dead
And when we passed on the street I hadn’t seen you in like six weeks
And my entire body shook
I missed beats

And I’ll come charging at your front door
Cause I don’t wanna be alone anymore
And leaving isn’t what I came here for
Leaving isn’t what I came here for
I’ll kick and scream at your front door
And unpack my bag onto your bedroom floor
Leaving isn’t what I came here for
Leaving isn’t what I came here for

And I was hanging out on the corner of 17th and Peachtree
We’d been loading out waiting now hours for a taxi
Words were spoken we skipped steps
My guitar case it hit hard against our legs
Bit the bruises I’d collected on my shins
Since the night I went and packed it in

And I don’t wanna die anymore
So come on darling, give me something to live for

And I’ll kick and scream at your front door
Cause I don’t want to be alone anymore
Leaving isn’t what I came here for
Leaving isn’t what I came here for
I’ll kick and scream at your front door
And unpack my bag onto your bedroom floor
Leaving isn’t what I came here for
Leaving isn’t what I came here for

And I know I fucked up and I know I done wrong
And that you deserve more than another fucking song
But leaving isn’t what I came here for
Leaving isn’t what I came here for

And I don’t wanna die anymore

Leave a Reply

