Going to uni was financially the stupidest thing I’ve done 

The title of this post says it all really. Although, I should add in…’going to uni at a later stage of life was financially the stupidest thing I’ve done’. If I had’ve gone to uni right after school, or at least after I did my diploma, then maybe my parents would have paid for it, like they did for my sister. But I didn’t. I had to do a whole bunch of other things in between before deciding that I would go to uni at the age of 24. Which seemingly granted me the misfortune of having to HECS my uni fees, and now (or soon) will be stuck in HECS debt that will probably last eternity.

I’m having a rough day.

Over the course of the last 6-10 months of being in Melbourne and transferring my medical stuff down here, I somehow got caught up in a different system which has led me having to fork out money for procedures and stuff; whereas I never had to pay anything in QLD. And on top of that, the fees weren’t averagely priced, they were pretty hefty for a struggling-as-it-is uni student like me. So today, after receiving another doctor bill that I wasn’t expecting; for a sum of money that I can’t really afford right now, I realised that going to uni was a poor choice financially, seeing as though now I’m not actually going to use my degree. Due to my recent revelation, the thing I want to do with my life and career, doesn’t need the degree I’m doing. So that’s a bummer.

However, I know that if I hadn’t gone through all the life experiences over the past few years and if I didn’t go to uni, then I probably wouldn’t have realised what I have right now. So, it’s kind of a double-edged sword in a way.

I guess I’m just feeling down and bitter about being dealt with such a shitty blow financially, and I just needed to vent.

Arrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh……………

3 thoughts on “Going to uni was financially the stupidest thing I’ve done 

    • Yeaahhhh….It’s such a tough battle because I really did want to study what I did, and I enjoyed learning about the stuff, but right now I just feel financially it was so pointless. UGH. Money stinks.

  1. Pingback: I was just having a sook | olivia in la la land

Leave a Reply

