What It’s Like To Be Optimistic And Depressed At The Same Time

Upon hearing the recent passing of a friend-of-a-friend, and a girl that went to my school (and consequently the loss of a person who I’m told was a beautiful girl with such a kind and caring soul, and a smile that could light up a room), a friend asked me this:

“how could someone so beautiful with so much talent want no part of this life?”

I responded with:

“what people see in you can be different to what you see in yourself”

Now, I don’t know the reasons for this beautiful girl to take her own life, however what I do know is what it’s like to feel that way. The reasons may not be the same, but the feelings can be strikingly similar.

Another friend sent me a link to this blog post a couple of weeks ago, and due to the recent events, I felt it necessary to post here. Please have a read, because depression does not often appear how most people would assume it looks like.

Depression shouldn’t be a forbidden topic that is kept hush hush and swept under the rug. It needs to be addressed and dealt with in order to stop it taking more lives.

And just remember…sometimes, people with the most beautiful smiles, can be hurting the most.

http://thoughtcatalog.com/kelly-bishop/2015/08/what-its-like-to-be-optimistic-and-depressed-at-the-same-time/?utm_content=bufferf4f1d&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Thought Catalog

dannyrozenblit  dannyrozenblit

Being a very happy, optimistic person with depression is a strange combination. When there is talk of someone struggling with depression, most people assume they’re miserable. They can’t laugh, they can’t smile, they can’t enjoy themselves, they don’t feel happiness.

Depression can be enveloping, it can take over your life and dictate your mood. It can make you think irrationally and feel unreasonably and make you feel completely and utterly alone in the world. But it’s possible to be a happy person with depression. I’m one of those people.

I am a naturally sad person. I can’t help it – it’s just who I am. No matter how much fun I may be having, or how happy I may feel, there is a permanent sadness lingering in the back of my mind. But I’ve learned to live with it.

I’ve come to terms with the fact that I will never…

View original post 517 more words

One thought on “What It’s Like To Be Optimistic And Depressed At The Same Time

  1. Pingback: Sign your name; help save lives. | olivia in la la land

Leave a Reply

