Home is many places…but it isn’t a place

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Home Turf.”
Name five things in your house that make it a home.

Hmmm….this is an interesting one! Some time late last year I wrote a post titled “A house is not a home”. And much of it still rings true. Although where I am living now is different to when I wrote that post, and I feel much more at home where I live now…but a home isn’t really about my possessions, because most of which I had where I was living before. Home to me, is a feeling. It’s where the heart is. It’s where the soul is. Where you feel most comfortable and relaxed; a place of contentment.

While there are certain tangible things that make my house feel more like MY home, for instance, the quilt on my bed, photos, books, and other miscellaneous trinkets of mine,

The things that mostly make my house a home are:

  • sand on the floor and scents in the air
  • a fresh bottle of water in arms reach
  • a comfy place where I can fall asleep, or take a nap
  • the feeling of absolute peace and calmness as I walk through the door
  • a place I’m proud to invite people to

I guess minimal (and relatively small) possessions make it easy for me to pack up and move to the next location and continually create new homes for myself wherever I feel at ease.

Parts of me thrive on a gypsy, nomadic lifestyle. (Other parts….not so much. But those parts are for another life.)

Home is not a place, or ‘things’. Home is a feeling.

One thought on “Home is many places…but it isn’t a place

Leave a Reply

