Yes Please

The other week a dear friend gave me this bookΒ Yes Please by Amy Poehler, and a few things really struck me throughout the book that I just wanted to share and say that I agree with, or that it made me open my eyes to see life a bit differently. This book in its entirety made me giggle out loud (which I haven’t done in a book in SUCH a long time), it made me cry, think and agree with (and sometimes disagree). It is such a lovely book and a totally different one to what I normally read, but a very welcome change. And plus, I love Amy Poehler, so of course I had to read it!

So, here’s some of Amy Poehler’s life lessons as noted by me. In no particular order, except that this is how they were chronologically in the book (I think). The first life lesson is:

“The only thing we can depend on in life is that everything changes. The seasons, our partners, what we want and need.”

Yes! I totally agree with this. I’m big on change (although sometimes to my detriment I think) but I really do believe that change is a good thing and that we are always constantly changing between everything in life. This is one major point on why I never want to get married* because people change, situations change. I can’t promise to be with someone forever, because I know for myself that I change and my tastes change and the things I want and need out of life always change.

Secondly:

“Going from crying to laughing that fast and hard happens maybe five times in your life and that extreme right turn is the reason why we are alive”

Ha, I just thought that was a nice and funny way to look at ‘meaning of life’ as so many people try to define. This is so simple and warmhearted.

And lastly, the final sentence of the book which had me tear up as I read it while sitting on the beach watching the sunset:

“The only way we will survive is by being kind. The only way we can get by in this world is through the help we receive from others. No one can do it alone, no matter how great the machines are.”

Again – yes!! Kindness matters guys! Spread it around. It’s free, it’s beautiful and it makes the world a better place!

Keep recycling love, peace, and kindness πŸ™‚

And have a great day.

*Blog post on not wanting to get married is in draft mode.

Leave a Reply

