My opinion on polygamy: take two

A few months ago I wrote about my thoughts on polygamous relationships…and another idea just popped into my head about this sort of lifestyle. One particular friend that reads this will completely disagree with what I’m about to say, because I recall having conversations with her about this years ago and (provided her thoughts haven’t changed), she doesn’t believe what I’m about it say is possible.

I believe that a person can be in love with more than one person at a time.

Side note: to LOVE someone is different to being IN LOVE with someone.

I really, truly do believe it is possible. Firstly, it’s obvious that people can LOVE more than one person at a time – parents love their children (plural), children love their parents (plural), and people love their friends (plural). So why is it that people say you can’t be IN LOVE with two (or more) people at a time? I call bullshit.

Every single person on this planet is so different and unique, who offers such diversity to the world and to others lives. I would go as far as to say it’s near impossible to NOT be IN LOVE with more than one person at a time! But just as polygamy isn’t for everyone, there probably are people out there who can (and will) only be in love with one person. At once and possibly even for their whole lives – good on those people! It’s just not for me. As Amy Poehler said in her book which is one of my favourite personal ‘mantras’ if you will “good for you, not for me”.

I feel like my whole life I’ve kinda been in love with more than one person at particular times. And I always felt bad about it and annoyed with myself for feeling that way. But I don’t think it’s such a bad thing anymore. Each person I’ve fallen in love with has taught me so much about life and about myself. And I think it’s perfectly acceptable to be in love with as many people as you want! Don’t limit yourself to what other people say about your feelings and your love. It’s your life! Enjoy it however you please!

And on that note…have a great weekend πŸ™‚

Peace and Love

3 thoughts on “My opinion on polygamy: take two

  1. Pingback: My opinion on polygamy: take three | olivia in la la land

Leave a Reply

