It sounds like a lame cliché

I like to live in the ‘now’. Yes, it sounds like a lame cliché. “Live in the now maaann”. But I really am the type of person who thrives on living in the ‘present moment’. From little things like eating chocolate because I feel like tasting it, rather than thinking about the future effects it will have on my body; to the big things like packing up my life up and moving interstate on a whim with no idea what I’m going to do or where my next meal will come from.

I know what I want now; and I don’t know what that means for the future. But I don’t like living (or planning too much) in the future because things change. People change. Situations change. Why not live in the moment and not worry about what the future holds for you.

I don’t know if this is a bad thing or not? I’ve come to realise I’ve been like this for as long as I can remember. I do things out of pure desire to do them right then and there, and I cross bridges if (or when) I get to them, and either suffer the consequences or reap the rewards; without regretting my choices if I happen to suffer or get hurt. Because it’s whatever I wanted to do at that point in time.

Bad things pass. But guess what? Good things pass too. So why not enjoy the ride and learn from each and every experience that is thrown your way?

But how do you convince someone to do that when they have already made up their mind about what they (roughly) plan to do in the future?

Ugh I just hate planning! Purely because you can never be sure of what the future holds. But that’s also the beauty of it all.

Life is too short to not do and enjoy what makes you happy.

I want something (read: someone) now. But I don’t know what the future holds for me. Or for him. Or for us. And because of that…I don’t know what to do. I know he’s scared…but fuck, so am I! Life is scary, but again…that’s another beauty of it! The scary moments help you learn and grow. I just wish I knew what to do and how to make him see that. Because sometimes, when people decide on something…there’s nothing that can change their thoughts.

Sigh.

Such is life I guess. I just hope things keep working out for me.

One thought on “It sounds like a lame cliché

  1. Pingback: Day: 19 – what is your biggest regret in life? | olivia in la la land

Leave a Reply

