7 years later…

Facebook just reminded me that 7 years ago, on this date (23rd January 2009), I had my 21st birthday party. While 7 years isn’t really a typical celebratory length of time, or notable ‘anniversary’ or anything, I still would like to share what I think is rather coincidental (?) – or should I say, has some significance in my life.

My 21st party was kind of a bitter sweet night, because I had recently become somewhat ‘in love’ with a boy that I had actually known for years. Long story short, I had invited him to my 21st, with him stating that he would come. Then, the night came around…and low and behold, he never showed up. I was heartbroken. I cried a lot that night of my party – but hell, it’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to!

After a few conversations and many tears in the following days, I eventually cut him out of my life – as I do when I need to get over someone. He jumped on a plane to Canada; and a few months later I ended up in Europe. We had legitimately lost all connection; for years.

About 2 years ago, we slowly came back into contact. We discussed and released all the issues from the past and we became friends again. Over those years, our friendship had gone through a bit of a sporadic and confusing few moments in a lack of communication aspect and whatnot that I won’t get into, but I never once gave up on him being a good friend in my life – that’s just not who I am. He came to visit me a few months ago, and after that visit, he decided he wanted to move to Melbourne. After a little bit of pushing and questioning his future plans, we came to the mutual decision that he would move into my flatmate’s room who was to be moving out in the new year.

He was supposed to move in around the 11th…then on the 19th…but today, the 23rd of January 2016, I picked him up from the airport and he officially moved into his new home; and new life here in Melbourne.

Exactly 7 years to the date that he broke my heart, I guess in some way he made it up to me by moving into my flatmate’s room.

I don’t know if the date has any significance to it in the grand scheme of things, but I like to think that it kinda does; especially due to the fact that this occurred the very, same, date. Coincidence? I don’t believe in coincidences.

Leave a Reply

