Day: 16 – what are your views on mainstream music?

Most of it is pretty terrible.

Okay okay, so maybe not completely terrible, as I have fallen victim to liking some songs on mainstream radio – especially lately. But all in all, I don’t listen to mainstream music/radio too much; I just can’t stand the ads! Some songs and artists are now bridging a lot of gaps between mainstream and independent music, which I guess is good in some way. But honestly, I don’t care what the music is typically classified as. If I like it, then I like it. That’s all there is to it. I go through moods of liking really random unknown songs, to crazy mainstream pop songs, to twangy country songs, and so on. And sometimes I hear the same songs I ‘like’ other times and think ‘ergh, yuck!’ So, I don’t stick to a particular ‘genre’ perse; my music varies with my moods. One thing that drives me nuts about mainstream radio is that they will play the same 5-10 songs about 2 or 3 times in one day! That’s annoying. Or at least some songs are so similar I feel like they get played more? Sometimes I’m not sure because I’m not paying too much attention.

Here’s an example of a song that I really like that is on both mainstream and non commercial radio. (I couldn’t find the original of a Drake song, or Beyonce. Sad face.)

Leave a Reply

