Youth Insearch

I’ve been wanting to write about this organisation for a while now, but I can never really seem to find the words to do it any justice.

I first heard about Youth Insearch about 6 months ago when I started working in the community service sector, and I was lucky enough to attend my very first camp. I was pretty anxious about going on the camp because I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but I was also very excited because I had heard the camp was big on giving/receiving hugs; which I love and was really missing at that time in my life. Little did I know the camp was so much more amazing than getting about 200+ hugs over the weekend.

Last week I went on my third camp now, and every time I go to one, I come back feeling even more astounded, impressed, proud than the last camp, and just in complete awe of the young people that attend them. Words cannot describe what goes on over the weekend, as I tried explaining it to a colleague before we went on the camp last weekend, and I said to her that it was just something she had to experience. After the returning from the camp, she said to me “you’re right, it’s not something you can explain, it’s something you have to experience”.

The best word Β to describe the camp weekend is ‘powerful’. The camp is based on peer support empowering each other to take control of their own lives and build self-esteem and become positive roles in society.

Personally, I think it’s a program that EVERYONE should be experiencing at least once in their life, because even going on one camp will change your mind, your body, your thoughts and perceptions, and will change your entire life.

If you’re a facebook user, click the image below to go to the Youth Insearch facebook page.

These people are changing the world; one hug at a time.

No automatic alt text available.

Leave a Reply

